Home

Dear Blog Readers,

It has just occured to me that today marks one month since I started sharing my thoughts on this blog. In the space of those thirty days, I have told you just how tall I am and how my name is spelt. I have taken you around my “village” at SIUE, and we have tried find out just how much of a village it really is, or not. In that span of time, you have attended my first and second classes. You have also followed my health all the way from Providence when that mosquito found me and tried to take me out. I have told you how I was almost convinced of a Jewish Identity I didn’t know existed in me. I have also shared with you my experiences with American PHCN, bushmeat, food and washing machines, and very many more. In all, it has been a very rewarding experience for me.

I am however sad to inform you that this is where I pull the curtains on ktravula.wordpress.com. It is not the end of my journey, but it is the end for this particular portal. By a stroke of random pleasant coincidences, I have obtained a domain where this blog shall continue for the rest of my time here. And guess the first good news I discovered soon after the blog went live: Inaugural Poet Maya Angelou will be coming to the SIUE campus on October 4th. This is a news too good to miss. This, along with other important news in the life of this traveller will henceforth be published on that new domain, are the latest good news from God’s own country.

To mark my first 30 days on ktravula.wordpress.com, and its end, I ask YOU myfriends to send me the questions you want me to ask Maya Angelou, the poet, when I see her in October. Do you want to know why the caged birds sing? I do. Here is our chance to press the juice out of the American bard. She’s African American. She’s 81 years old. Her first husband was from Ghana, and she has written her life experiences in a series of Autobiographies starting with “I Know Why The Caged Birds Sing” and ending with “A Shoe Flung Up to Heaven.”

Read more on Wikipedia.

3 thoughts on “This Isn’t Goodbye

  1. Awwww, I thoroughly enjoyed this experience even though I’ve been a silent stalker. Rest assured that I’ll be moving with you as you relocate.
    ‘Bout your meeting Maya Angelou, all I can say is: You lucky, lucky son of your father.
    No questions for her from me, will keep them till I meet her, soon (I hope). Just pass on a heartfelt “Thank You” for the words, thoughts and emotions she so beautifully put together for us to experience.
    Take care.

  2. Is it that her pieces are more beautiful than herself or she is more/most beautiful than her write ups? Well let us see how the day goes in your new site and you are wonder as a writer and travula to keep us posted on daily events. Thanks a bunch.

Leave a comment